[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4688: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4690: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4691: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4692: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3823)
Poco Forums • View topic - Antivirus settings for AVG on Poco2

Antivirus settings for AVG on Poco2

General email topics, from anti-virus and anti-spam software to webmail and ISPs

Moderators: Eric, Tomas, robin

Antivirus settings for AVG on Poco2

Postby Jlo » Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:20 am

Hi,

I am writing this on behalf of my Father. We have tried Extendia AV on his computer and manually configured POP3 settings for his Poco2. Unfortunalty it slowed things down and would somethimes hang when checking mail (He has multible accounts to check)

We then found that Poco2 writes the the attachment to a download file and the resident scanner would flag any viruses up anyway.

He then moved to AVG7 and enabled e mail scanning. All seemed well but again it slowed things down and quite a few times when he tried to send mail he had a message back from AVG that mail could not be sent. Looking at AVG forum this is a commen issue.

I think Poco2 allows you to select a av scanner and initiate a scan rather than using Pop3 scanning?

Does anyone know which of the AVG file he should tell Poco to use?

Many Thanks

Jlo
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Postby Jlo » Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:25 am

I forgot to say he is now using AVG7 with out the mail scanner installed.

I will send him the eicar test virus to see if it pick up through Poco mail with just the resident scanner but if anyone can help with the above of finding the right avg file to force a scan on attachments would be great.

Cheers

Jlo
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Re: Antivirus settings for AVG on Poco2

Postby Eric » Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:03 am

Hi Jlo & welcome to Poco Forums :D,
Jlo wrote:Does anyone know which of the AVG file he should tell Poco to use?
You could always look it up or ask at their forum.

I hope this helps. :wink:
Eric
 

Postby Jlo » Thu Dec 30, 2004 4:16 am

Thanks Eric,

May well do that. Just thought its a popular program and someone hear may already have the answer.

Thanks for the advice :)

Cheers

Jlo
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Postby Kaigan » Thu Dec 30, 2004 5:52 am

Jlo wrote:May well do that. Just thought its a popular program and someone hear may already have the answer.


I am running AVG7 full version without any problems sending or recieving. I have both in and out mail scanners enabled. Is there any errors and are you behind a firewall?
You can enable Pocomail to scan but only for attachments. For this you would use the "avgscan.exe" file.
I haven't set it up, but will have a look as there are a number of switches you can use. To see the switches just run "avgscan.exe" with the /? switch in a command or dos prompt window.


Peter
Kaigan
Poco Enthusiast
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 6:58 pm

Postby Jlo » Thu Dec 30, 2004 7:53 am

Thanks Kaigan,

I am passing on the info to my Father. Its very much appreciated :)

Kind Regards

Jlo
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Postby Jlo » Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:36 pm

Hi,

I have posted a note to AVG forum and Wilders now to see if someone can tell me what exactly to write in to the 'comand line paramerters' box for poco tp scan avg.

Will report back any answers found.

Cheers

Jlo
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Postby Eric » Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:58 pm

Jlo wrote:I have posted a note to AVG forum and Wilders now to see if someone can tell me what exactly to write in to the 'comand line paramerters' box for poco tp scan avg.
I've seen your post at Wilders. :)

Will report back any answers found.
Thanks in advance Jlo :wink:
Eric
 

Postby Jlo » Fri Dec 31, 2004 1:44 am

Hi,

Well I have not moved much further foward yet

I have however found the comand prompt window within xp and am faced with a black screen with says

C:\Documents and settings\my use name>

I tried just putting in /? and got an error message.

Could you instruct me how to run avgscan.exe from here as I don't have a clue how to use the comand prompt!

Cheers

Jlo
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Postby Eric » Fri Dec 31, 2004 1:55 am

Jlo wrote:Could you instruct me how to run avgscan.exe from here as I don't have a clue how to use the comand prompt!
Already responded at Wilders, so I'll copy it here for other fellow users. :)

Eldar wrote:You'll have to open the DOS prompt window which can be found under System. Go to the directory where AVG is installed.
You'll have to use DOS commands to get there.
For example: AVG installed under c:\program files\AVG you'll have to type in
CD Program files
CD AVG

To go back in the tree just type in CD ..

After that just type in avgscan.exe /? to see the switches in this DOS window.
Make a screenshot and print it out.

I hope this can help you getting started and that I've done it right.
Eric
 

Postby Jlo » Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:05 am

Thanks Eric.

Also recieved the following reply from Wilders suggesting I use AVGW.exe and comand line /SE

Will try and contact my Father and will report back if it all works :)

Thanks so much for everyone's help!

Regards

Jlo


Re: PocoMail3.2 and Comand Line Parameters with AVG

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I emailed tech help once asking how to set up scan within another program.
This is what they sent me, hope it helps.

MAIN SECTION >> Technical FAQ >> FAQ AVG 7.0 >> AVG for Workstations
How can I set programs like WinZip, GetRight etc. to scan files used by them?
Within the 3rd party program scanning options choose AVGW.EXE with /SE parameter (AVGW.EXE /SE) as internal antivirus scanner. AVGW.EXE file is located in the AVG directory – usually “C:\Program Files\Grisoft\AVG7“ directory on your hard drive.
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Postby Jlo » Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:09 am

Another reply from Wilders (Thanks Eldar)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlo
So am I right in saying that he would browse down (using poco) to grisoft folder and select AVGW.exe and then in the PocoMail 'comand parameters' box he should just put in '/se' or should he write in 'avgw.exe/se'?

You should insert
avgw.exe /se to make it work.
Be sure to put a space in between. I've made a mistake in my above post.
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Postby Eric » Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:03 am

Jlo wrote:Another reply from Wilders (Thanks Eldar)
My pleasure Jlo. :wink:

Here's a link for setting up E-mail account settings with AVG.
It's for Pegasus, but that shouldn't be making much difference. :)

A happy New Year to all. :D
Eric
 

Postby Jlo » Sat Jan 01, 2005 12:36 am

Hi,

Just wanted to thank everyone with their support with this problem on Poco. Wilders and AVG forum.

We have followed the instructions but had no success. Anyway we reloaded AVG (Typical setting) and activated the email scanner and all is working fine at the moment using pop3 scanning.

My father originally ditched the e mail pop3 scanner as every now and again it caused an error (This e mail could not be sent, contact avg@postermaster etc etc)


Anyway seems to be working now.

Thanks Again

Jlo
Jlo
Drop-in Visitor
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 1:06 am

Postby Kaigan » Sat Jan 01, 2005 4:20 am

Jlo wrote:My father originally ditched the e mail pop3 scanner as every now and again it caused an error (This e mail could not be sent, contact avg@postermaster etc etc)


Yes, I have found the SMTP portion to be quite flaky. It will work and then all of a sudden you can't send emails, although it appears that you have. An hour later, I would recieve an email from the scanner informing me that the message couldn't be sent. I have disabled the outgoing scan for the moment. The incoming seems to be working without any problems.


Peter
Kaigan
Poco Enthusiast
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 6:58 pm

Next

Return to Email Hall

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron